shadow cast

Euopean Premiere: SHADOW

Date 16 August 2022
Location Edinburgh International Film Festival


European Film Premiere

“When artificial intelligence overtakes human intelligence, how will people be treated?”

Australia’s internationally acclaimed Back to Back Theatre, a professional theatre company with an ensemble of actors with disabilities at its core, has produced its debut feature-length film, SHADOW. Directed by Bruce Gladwin, SHADOW is a darkly humorous 56-minute film based on Back to Back Theatre’s award-winning stage play THE SHADOW WHOSE PREY THE HUNTER BECOMES (2019), which was developed, in part, at the 2019 Sundance Theatre Lab at MASS MoCA, and was described by The New York Times as “extraordinary”.

Simon, Scott and Sarah, a trio of activists with intellectual disabilities, hold a town hall meeting about the future impacts of artificial intelligence. Simon, considering himself a saviour for the community, quickly appoints himself the mayor, and Scott reluctantly steps into the role of facilitator, but soon becomes enamoured with his own power and begins to dismiss the experiences of others. Sarah, often overlooked and underestimated by her counterparts, explodes, confronting the self-appointed leaders on their inadequacies. What begins as a polite discussion quickly descends into bickering and chaos, seemingly provoked by a force within. Sarah acts to unite the group, only to realise the battle to get their message across may be lost already.

Creative Credits

  • A Back to Back Pictures Production

    Director: Bruce Gladwin

    Screenplay: Michael Chan, Mark Deans, Bruce Gladwin, Simon Laherty, Sarah Mainwaring, Scott Price, Sonia Teuben

    Based on the Back to Back Theatre stage production THE SHADOW WHOSE PREY THE HUNTER BECOMES

    Producer: Alice Fleming
    Director of Photography and Editor: Rhian Hinkley
    Musical Composition: Luke Howard Trio (Luke Howard, Daniel Farrugia, Jonathan Zion)
    Art Director: Tao Weis
    Costume Designer: Shio Otani
    Associate Producer: Meret Hassanen
    Assistant Producer: Pippa Wright
    Executive Producers: Bruce Gladwin, Tim Stitz